Instrument Composer Editor Instrumentation Resources

Gerhard Roither

Gerhard Roither was born in Berlin, in 1932. He studied violin with M. L. König von Kleist and theory and composition with Gotthold Frotscher. Mr. Roither has been a member of the Deutsches Symphonie Orchester Berlin (formerly the RIAS- and later Radio-Symphony Orchestra Berlin) for 42 years. Principal conductors of the DSO have included Ferenc Fricsay, Lorin Maazel, Ricardo Chailly, and Vladimir Ashkenazy. Gerhard Roither was a member of the Fournes String Quartet from 1959 until 1970. In 1972, during a tour with the Berlin Philharmonic, the 12 Cellists of the Be’rlin Philharmonic asked Mr. Roither to compose a few short pieces for them to use as encores. This inspired Mr. Roither to arrange the "Seven Spirituals" for The Berlin Philharmonic Cello Ensemble. The Swedish "Vaermland-Song" was arranged for a concert given by the 12 Cellists in Stockholm for the Swedish king Carl XVI Gustaf of Sweden and Queen Silvia of Sweden who was born in Germany.
  • Compositions by Gerhard Roither:
    • Two string quartets (1961)
    • Passacaglia or orgue (1968)
    • Introduktion and canon for solo violin and orchestra (1963)
    • Quintet for Winds "Wolkenspiele" (1965) 
  • Orchestrations:
    • Fr. Schubert: Sonata for Arpeggione, for string orchestra
    • B. Martinu: Quartre études for Violoncello and chamber orchestra
    • B. Martinu: Variations on a Slovakian traditional for chamber orchestra
    • G. Bottesini: Concertos for one and two double basses for chamber orchestra 
  • Cadenzas for various instruments: 
    • Violin:
      • Jos. Haydn: Concerto Nr. 1 in C major
      • W.A. Mozart: Concerto Nr. 2 in D Major
      • alias W.A. Mozart: Adelaide in D Major
      • alias L. Boccherini Concerto in D Major 
    • Viola:
      • C. Stamitz: Concerto in D Major, Op. 1 
    • Cello:
      • Jos. Haydn: Concerto in D Major
      • Jos. Haydn: Concerto in C Major
      • C.P.E. Bach: Concerto in A Major
      • R. Volkmann: op. 33 a-minor 
    • Two cellos:
      • Storioni: Concertino 
    • Violin and cello:
      • J.C. Bach: Sinfonia Concertante in A Major 
  • Arrangements for string quartet (mostly for educational purposes):
    • J.S. Bach: Adagio and Fugue after the Solo-Sonata in C Major- from "das Wohltemperierte Klavier":
      • Part 1: F# minor (transposed to G minor)
      • Part 2: E-flat minor (transposed to E minor)
      • Part 2: D minor
      • Part 2: B-flat minor (transposed to C minor)with different instruments
    • A. Schoenberg: Sechs kleine Kavierstücke, Op. 19
    • A. Webern: Variations op. 27/3
Below you will find the complete list of scores edited by Gerhard Roither.

Composer Title Instrument Editor Instrumentation Price
Roither, Gerhard Ack Värmeland, du sköna (for 12 Celli) Violoncello Roither, Gerhard Violoncello Ensemble $ 7.99
Roither, Gerhard Seven Spirituals (for 12 Celli) Violoncello Roither, Gerhard Violoncello Ensemble $ 17.99
Schumann, Robert Romanze (for 12 Celli) Violoncello Roither, Gerhard Violoncello Ensemble $ 8.99