Instrument Composer Editor Instrumentation Resources

You must be logged in to add items to your shopping cart. Click here to create an account or log in.

Josquin Benedicta es, caelorum regina – Cello Sextet

Arranged by Hans Erik Deckert

Title: Benedicta es, caelorum regina (for Cello Sextet)
Composer: Josquin des Prez
Instrument: Violoncello
Edited By: Hans Erik Deckert
Instrumentation: Violoncello Ensemble
Pages: 14 for the score and 12 for the violoncello parts

Purchase the score and parts together and receive 50% off the combined price!

Josquin's Benedicta es, caelorum regina has been arranged for cello sextet by Hans Erik Deckert, who has had a prolific career in the fields of cello, conducting, and arrangement. The son of German and Danish parents, Deckert is rooted in both musical traditions and carries with him a wealth of knowledge that is highly sought-after. He has employed his musicianship in a wide number of arrangements of varying styles

This motet, which is a praise to the Virgin Mary ("Blessed art thou, Queen of Heaven") belongs to the most famous choral works from the 14th century. Benedicta es, caelorum regina contains a double cantus firmus (1st and 4th cello) that dates from the 10th century. These voices are composed with a phenomenal polyphonic quality, which is derived from the cantus firmus. It is recommended to duplicate the main voices and place the ensemble in two groups (1st—3rd and 4th—6th cello) facing each other. It is crucial to create a very transparent timbre and a dynamic that follows the energy and movements of the individual voices.

--Hans Erik Deckert

Download and print the score today to gain access to this expertly edited arrangement of Josquin's Benedicta es, caelorum regina for cello sextet by Hans Erik Deckert!

Click on an image below for a free preview of the score:
  Click on an image below to print a free cover page design for this score:
Violoncello I
ScoreColor Option 1
Color Option 2Black & White